Voting open for vacant Western BOP seats

Governance advisor Ella Logan. Photo: supplied.

Voting is now open to decide who will fill Western Bay of Plenty District Council’s vacant Maketu-Te Puke councillor and Ōmokoroa Community Board seats.

Candidates for the Maketu-Te Puke councillor seat are Bernard Holmes, Laura Rae and Anthony Wihapi, while those in the running for the Ōmokoroa Community Board seat are Chris Dever, Steven Ling and Murray Marshall.

To view the candidate profiles, visit

Voting closes midday Thursday, July 18, with the successful candidates selected under the first-past-the-post electoral system.

Voting will be done via postal ballot, with voting papers being sent to residents in the respective areas from June 26, 2024.

To vote, residents in the Maketu-Te Puke ward and Ōmokoroa Community Board area will need to complete their postal ballots and either mail them back or hand deliver them at one of the following locations.

New World Te Puke, Maketu Hauora, Te Puke Library and Service Centre, Western Bay of Plenty District Council’s main office at Barkes Corner, or Ōmokoroa Library and Service Centre.

Governance advisor Ella Logan says if you live in these areas, and are eligible to vote, you will receive your postal ballots via mail.

“If you haven’t received yours by 1 July 2024, please call 0800 922 822, or email”

You may also like....